Time To Meet The Parents

Posted: January 30, 2014 in Dating
Tags: , ,

I have a confession. I absolutely dread meeting the parents of anyone I’m serious about. Seriously, I don’t like it at all. I try to put off doing it as long as possible. If there’s a way to avoid it altogether, even better. It’s just one of my many weird quirks. The last time I met a man’s parents it was so uncomfortable and awkward. Man…But enough about me and my social awkwardness :).  I know most women (not sure about men) are happy and excited to meet the boyfriend’s parents. They may be a little nervous, but still, they’re more so happy about it. But why?

Meeting a man’s parents doesn’t stand for what is used to once upon a time. Back in the day meeting the parents meant you were serious, he wanted you to feel included with the family, and you were important because he was introducing you to the most important people in his life. Now…I’m not sure if women realize this, but men bring home all kinds of women these days. I can’t tell you how many random chicks my mom has been introduced to on behalf of my brothers. In addition, because we’re such a free liberal world now, men are falling in lust thinking it’s love. So a couple of good romps in the sac will get you meeting the parents a lot sooner these days; only to be done in vain once the novelty has worn off and one or both of you realizes the other isn’t “the one”.

So if you’re a woman, why do or don’t you like meeting the parents? What does meeting the parents mean to you? If you’re a man, do you enjoy meeting the parents or does it scare you? Lastly, when do you feel is the right time to meet the parents? Is there a certain time limit or just when it feels right?

Leave a Reply

