Think Beyond The Headlines

Posted: January 2, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

A few days ago I was reading an article where a mother let her child starve to death and was convicted and sentenced to 34 years (I think or something like that) in prison. I then read all the readers’ comments that followed. People were outraged, of course, and saying all these mean and awful things about the mother, damning her to hell, etc. I don’t know why or if I’m the only one who does this, but whenever I hear tragedies similar to this, I always put myself in both the victim and the guilty person’s shoes. Why did they do this? What were they thinking while they did this? What is their reasoning like? What are their skills of logic like? Are they balanced or insane? Were they abused? If so, how and for how long? Did they just snap or were they breaking down over time?

I definitely don’t believe in making excuses for people but I do believe there is usually a reason behind everything. However, the reason is never exposed or it doesn’t make it in the article. As I scrolled down the article, I found pictures of the woman and immediately I thought, Aha! Look at this woman. She’s damn near starved herself. She is obviously on drugs. I went on to read that she gave birth to another baby that tested positive for drugs and that the child she let starve was born underweight with serious health issues; which, to me, means this woman is obviously producing crack babies. Now, if I was able to put all this together just from reading a one-page article, why weren’t the social workers able to? This woman had no business being allowed to take either of those children home from the hospital, but somehow was.

The question I am trying to raise here is why do we always stop at the headlines? I’ve done enough freelance work where I’ve interviewed people or people have interviewed me. So I know there’s only a certain amount of words you’re allotted to get everything you want to write in one article. I’ve had interviews with 3-4 pages worth of material but had to cut it down to one. I’ve read interviews that people have conducted with me and thought to myself, Hey they left out the part where I said “blah blah blah”. I really wish he/she would’ve left that in.

Again, I’m not making excuses or saying I feel bad for the woman. A child was lost, and I’m sure once she’s thinking with a clear head, the guilt she’ll place on herself will far outweigh anything a commenter might say. What I am asking, though, is why are we so quick to read/see and judge, never taking the time to think about the whole scenario. A person strung out on drugs does not think clearly, nor make rational decisions. None of her children should’ve been left under her care in the first place. But nobody’s talking about that. We just see a headline and read a one-page article when the whole story probably requires days to tell.

Comments
  1. YBF says:

    It’s sad that so many people are really ignorant about propaganda and others are just too lazy to actually read or research a topic a little further. Not everything is in black and white – On another note, not to mention, there are 3 sides to a story. Yours, Mine, and the Truth.

Leave a Reply

