5 Things People Say But Don’t Mean

Posted: July 25, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

sayitI am one of those people who say what they mean and mean what they say. Now usually I write in a lot of my posts that I don’t want or expect people to try to be like me, but I actually do wish people were more like that in this respect. It would make life so much easier. It just seems like people just say certain things either because they hear other people say it or maybe just to hear themselves talk. I’m not even sure why they do it really. Below is just a short list of things that people have said to me often throughout my life and I know with certainty (and with proof) that they don’t mean it at all.

  1. “Let me know if you need anything at all.” Maybe this one is my fault. Perhaps I have been misunderstood. Is it that the person literately means just let them know and that’s it? You see because all this time I’ve been under the assumption that it was implied that they wanted you to let them know if you need anything so they could actually help in some way.  Now I understand they just want to be notified and that is all. I think saying “let me know if you need anything” is just a kind formality. I think people just want to feel and sound like they’re being helpful without actually helping. I guess people just say this not actually thinking the person may actually come to them for help.
  2. “You should’ve told me! I would’ve…” Ooooh this one just burns me up. This is a sure way to annoy the crap out of me.  The first thing that irks me about this statement is the shoulda coulda woulda context. It’s like wasted breath. Why are we even talking about something so irrelevant? Yeah, I could’ve and you would’ve but guess what? We didn’t! So why is this even being discussed? The other thing that trips me out is that 90% of the time I did tell the person and they just forgot or I told them on a previous occaision in the same scenario and they weren’t able to come through. So now I have the perfect, simple response for those people: “I did tell you.” I’ve noticed there’s not much more they can say to that and it will usually shut them up for the next time as well.
  3. “I’ll keep you in my prayers.” Okay so I don’t have any actual proof of this one, but I highly doubt that the majority of people who say this actually follow through and do it. It’s like we just broke bread and you didn’t even pray over your food. Do you really expect me to believe you’re praying for me when we part ways? If so, why not just pray for me right now while I’m right in front of you? What are you waiting until later for? Again, it’s just something to say to sound comforting I suppose. People should really stop saying this if they’re not actually doing it.
  4. “How you doing?” Simple right? Have you ever noticed how many people actually wait for your response or just start talking? Or how about when you ask them that, how many people don’t even respond at all? Oh, and you gotta love the people who ask you this back to back within the first two minutes because they forgot that fast that you already answered that question, and they probably weren’t paying attention to your response anyway. Why? It’s a formality, just something to say, open the conversation with. People don’t actually want to know how you’re doing. I would venture to guess that a good portion of you don’t even want to know how people are doing when you ask lol. I think we all know this subconsciously and that’s why not a lot of time is spent on the question.
  5. “Let me let you get off this phone.” Really? Let me get off the phone? Maybe I’m missing something here but I thought anyone can end a call whenever they’d like. It’s even funnier when you’re the one that called the person and they’re letting you go. No, that’s not the way it’s supposed to work! I called you! If anyone is gonna let anybody go, it should be me! Seriously, why are people so afraid to just tell the truth? When I’m ready to end a phone conversation I’ll either tell the person what I’m about to do or simply say, “Well I’m gonna go now.” How hard is that? Why must people act like they’re doing you a favor or pretend like they’re taking up too much of your time when really they’re just ready to get off the phone? I hereby give you all permission to end phone calls. There, now there should be no more reason for you to feel guilty about getting off the phone when you feel like it :).

I’m sure there are probably plenty more things people say but don’t mean. I just can’t think of anymore at the moment. It’s a shame. Once upon a time word was bond. Now you can’t even trust that anymore. People just walk around in every day conversations saying a bunch of random things they don’t mean for what reason?

Leave a Reply

