Why Are You Offended By My Healthy Eating?

Posted: July 11, 2013 in Health & Wellness
Tags: ,

eathGrowing up there were a lot of things I didn’t eat or drink like fast food, pork, white bread, Kool-Aid, and I’m sure there’s more I can’t think of right now. The reason why I didn’t eat or drink these things is because my mom didn’t give it to me. The reason she didn’t give it to me is because she was trying her best to make healthy choices for me. So naturally once I was fifteen and started working at McDonalds, I was questioned and ridiculed when I confessed I didn’t know anything about Sausage Egg McMuffins and Bacon, Egg, and Cheese-whatevers.

Since reaching adulthood, I’ve learned about even more foods that may not be the best for my body and overall health; so I stopped or cut back eating them. It has nothing to do with trying to be skinny or just hopping on the bandwagon. I tested different things out, and I noticed when I subtracted certain things from my diet I saw changes in my body. When I cut back on the beef, my digestive system started working more properly. When I started eating more grapefruits, my muffin top stomach started to go down. When I stopped drinking concentrated orange juice and started drinking 100% orange juice, my nails started to grow longer and healthier. For me, the better choices just began to become clearer in what I ate.eath1

Whenever I tell someone I don’t eat pork, it’s almost like they take it personally, like they birthed the damn pig that I am turning down. They jerk their neck and say, “WHY? What’s wrong with pork? Ain’t nothing wrong with pork!” Then I have to explain to them how I’ve never eaten it, I’m not a Muslim, and if I try to eat it I get sick. When I tell people I never drank Kool-Aid growing up, they tell me I’m not black, and again, get offended lol. I’ve had someone tell me I eat “rich people food”. Forget about when I was trying out my vegetarian experiment. I don’t think I’ve had so many eyes rolled at me in my life!eath3

I just don’t understand. I am not in the habit of telling people what they should eat. I just simply tell them what I eat or don’t eat and only when the situation arises. I’m not asking anyone to cook for me or do anything for me, and I don’t judge them for what they eat. I think people should do what they want. If you want to put yourself at higher risks for ailments and diseases all for the good taste of that pork chop or that swig of Kool-Aid, go right ahead! My question is why does it bother others so much that I choose to at least try to eat healthy? I definitely still have my weaknesses and I’m not a health nut. It just so happens that a lot of the food I do like and have always liked happens to be good for me. Why is that such a major offense to folks?

Comments
  1. YBF says:

    Because you find certain foods not good for you or even not to you, if it’s out of the “norm”, some people do take it as a personal attack against them. I’ve even been called “weird” because of some of my healthy choices. Sometimes instead of asking if a particular dish has pork in it, I’ll just ask “is there meat in it?” I’ve gotten to the point where at times I just politely say “no thank you” to something I would not eat to avoid hurting someone’s feelings by asking the ingredients. They’re like “WHY?” and look like they want to fight you. I don’t even bother to explain why I’m asking. I think the reason some people are so offended by your healthy eating is because of their ignorance in just not knowing or lack of nutritional education. As in so many other things in life, because they’ve done these things for so long, they just don’t want to change their bad habits. That is – until a doctor warns them to do so. I too, eat some unhealthy things but am constantly reading, listening and acknowledging when healthy eating advice is offered.
    We realize we all ahve to die from something, but you’d think common sense would make one do the necessary to live a healthy lifestyle. And there are so many, many delicious healthy foods! As you can see, I could go on and on about this. So please let me eat healthy in peace (not war). Thank you for posting this topic.

    • Just Jewel says:

      LOL @”look like they want to fight you.” I agree, I guess when someone has eaten whatever for so long, they don’t question it. They’re not open to different, better choices. I don’t understand that either. People always wait until a doctor tells them something is wrong to switch their eating habits. Proaction is better than reaction I think. Thanks for commenting as always!!

Leave a Reply

