How Many Likes Does it Take?

Posted: April 11, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

likedogIt was years before I joined the MySpace crowd. By the time I did, everyone had moved to Facebook. So I took my time joining Facebook as well, gladly closing my MySpace account at the same time. You see, MySpace was a land where friends posted pictures of me in my swimsuit and random men left inappropriate comments about all the things they wanted to do to me. Some thrive off of this type of attention but it was an unfamiliar territory for me and I was okay with leaving. Once I arrived at Facebook, everyone had Twitter accounts. Of course I wasn’t too quick to get a Twitter account either. I was still testing the waters of Facebook. At first I enjoyed it for its intended purposes. I was reconnecting with friends and family I hadn’t seen or talked to in years. I was able to see pictures of what everyone looked like now and lil’ so and so and baby blah blah blah. I even posted a few pictures of my own. In the beginning I didn’t even pay attention to who liked or commented on my pictures. I look back now and see comments that I never even acknowledged from years ago. Oops, my bad!

I eventually gave in and got a Twitter account when I started this blog site and announced myself as a new writer, convinced by many that Twitter would now be a necessity for me. One year later and I still don’t fully understand the point of Twitter. People just post whatever’s on their mind in two sentences or less. You have to beg people to follow you and announcing whom you’re following and thanking folks for following you is etiquette I quickly found to be annoying. Ain’t nobody got time for that! So I can understand how Facebook did not become obsolete like MySpace did.

facebookIn keeping my Facebook account, I recently noticed that I’ve posted quite a few pictures (and will soon begin the process of deleting some). That was before I started comparing myself with some of my Facebook friends. In actuality I have nothing on many of them. I noticed that there are people who post pictures daily, sometimes multiple pictures. Enter in Instagram, a whole other organism. I almost feel like Instagram was created for the people who wanted to skip Facebook’s original intentions of reconnecting with people but instead just post a bunch of random pictures of themselves for people to look at and like or comment. Between the sexy poses and the “I’m having the time of my life” pictures, it seems to me that people are really crying out for attention. I’ve actually had friends tell me, “I’m just posting this to see how many likes I get.”

Why do we care? Why does everyone need to know what you’re doing, where you are, and whom you’re doing it with right at the moment that you’re doing it? I’d be lying if I said I haven’t almost fallen into the bandwagon myself, especially since I finally gave in and upgraded my smartphone. I guess you might’ve gathered by now, I’m not one for new technology 🙂 . What is it that those “likes” are providing to people that they’re not getting elsewhere? I know we live in a digital world now but I long for the days when pictures were kept in photo albums and only pulled out once in a while to reminisce. So to the daily posers and posters I ask: How many likes will it take for you to feel approved? How many likes does it take to get to the center of your self-esteem?

Comments
  1. I couldn’t have said it better.

Leave a Reply

