5 Tips to Become a More Positive You

Posted: December 20, 2012 in Positive vs. Negative
Tags: , ,

There is positive potential in each one of us. I don’t know anyone who knowingly wants to be negative. Even the most negative person most likely isn’t being negative on purpose, and though they may not admit it out loud, they really want to be a positive person deep down inside. In most cases, they probably don’t even realize that they’re a negative person. Below are five tips that helped me once I came to the realization I was a negative person and wanted to do something about it:

1.    Think before you speak: I mentioned this briefly in one of my earlier posts this month. The way you think is so important because everything starts with a thought, everything. Once I became aware of my negativity I started paying close attention to my thoughts. Any time any kind of negative thought would enter my mind, whether it be about someone or a situation or anything, I would immediately say a quick silent prayer in my head. I’d ask God to forgive me for the thought, to erase it, and replace it with something more positive. Nowadays everyone is obsessed with “keeping it real”. There’s a difference between keeping it real and keeping it negative. Not every thought that enters your mind needs to be vocalized, particularly if it’s negative. The next time you’re thinking about saying something out loud that you know might be negative ask yourself these questions: Is what I’m about to say going to help or hurt this person or situation? What is the benefit going to be of me saying this? Am I going to feel better about myself after saying this? Is it really necessary and is it going to change anything for the better? You know the saying: If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

2.    Compliment someone: I promise it won’t hurt 🙂 . Giving a compliment costs nothing and takes nothing away from you. I’m not suggesting you be phony and start tossing out compliments left and right. But if you think someone did a good job on something at work or if you like the store clerk’s earrings, it’s okay to tell them. Giving compliments will put you in the practice of saying good or positive things. I guarantee it will make them feel good and putting a smile on their face will make you feel good that you did that. I’ve always been shy about talking to people I don’t know. In addition to making you and the other person feel good, I’ve found that giving a compliment serves as a great icebreaker as well.

3.    Get your share of sunlight: No, of course don’t fry out in the sun but get your daily dose of sunlight. Around 10-15 minutes daily is a start. It’s no coincidence that we start feeling happier and more energetic around the Spring and Summer months. Sunshine boosts our level of serotonin – our body’s natural “happy hormone”. So basically there’s just something about that sun of ours that just puts us in a better mood when we’re exposed to it. When you’re in a better mood, you’re more likely to be positive.

4.    Make a list: When negative things happen in your life, it’s easy to let it get to you and you begin to play hostess to that negative energy. You begin to think and say things to yourself and/or others like “I’m never gonna get ahead”, “I just can’t win”, “It’s always something”, “I’ll never find love”, “I might as well not even try”, etc. Don’t do it! Instead go make a list of and focus on all the positive things in your life. Don’t forget the things you may think are little too. Once you start writing that list you will realize just how fortunate you are and all that is right and good with your life. It serves as a reminder that things usually aren’t as bad as you think or as bad as they could be.

5.    Talk to yourself: I promise it’s okay to do this lol. Some people may not have those positive friends yet. They may come from a family full of negativity where it is constantly spoken and practiced. You may not have one single influence or reinforcement of positivity around you. This tip is for those people. This is when you must become your own cheerleader. In one of my other posts I spoke about speaking things into existence. This is part of that. Take a few times out of the week and just say positive things to yourself. It doesn’t matter what it is so long as it’s positive. It could be about your goals. It could be about your beauty. It could be about your health – whatever you think you need to speak positivity over. You can talk out loud or just talk in your mind. Some people need to hear the words spoken out loud. You can talk to yourself in the mirror or not. I am blessed to have positive people in my life but sometimes I need to speak it into myself still. So what I do is once a week for 30 minutes (usually on Sunday to start my week off right), I lay down. I put on some tranquil music. Sometimes I close my eyes to visualize what I’m speaking into existence, but sometimes I just stare at the ceiling. I don’t usually talk out loud but if it’s been one of those weeks where I’m struggling to stay positive, I do speak out loud. Then I just go in on positivity. This may sound weird to some who read this. To you I say don’t knock it til you try it 🙂 . Words have the power that you give them.

 

“Keep your thoughts positive because your thoughts become your words. Keep your words positive because your words become your behavior. Keep your behavior positive because your behavior becomes your habits. Keep your habits positive because your habits become your values. Keep your values positive because your values become your destiny.”

—   Mahatma Gandhi

“Some people grumble that roses have thorns; I am grateful that thorns have roses.”

Alphonse Karr

Comments
  1. Just Jewel says:

    Glad you agree! Thanks!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Jewel.

    This IS a great way to end the old year and to start a new one.

    A valuable reminder for me.

    Thanks!
    BBF

Leave a Reply

