Mind on my Money and my Money on my Mind

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Finances
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I can’t believe June is here already. Time flies when you’re having fun. This month I decided to switch gears a little and discuss finances. This topic may seem a little dull in comparison to some of my previous topics, but I think it’s necessary.

I have been living on my own for about eight years now. I was nineteen when I left home for good. I was making $12.50/hr. at that time. It hasn’t always been easy, but I have managed to keep my head above water thus far. I have been described by friends and family as being frugal, cheap, thrifty, etc. Mind you, this comes from those with bad credit, no credit, living with parents/roommates/significant others, or in a shitload of debt. I tell them I’m not cheap. I just don’t waste money and I don’t buy things I can’t afford. It’s just that simple.

Some of my peers speculate and assume I make a gang of money. Well I don’t. I have watched them run up credit cards to front, throw money away on fads, gadgets and toys, move out of their parents’ home only to move back, borrow money, have cars repossessed, and dig themselves deeper and deeper into debt.

This month I will be discussing budgeting, avoiding debt, and spending within your means. I understand it’s easy to fall on hard times. God forbid that could very well be me at any point in time as we are all only two paychecks away from poverty. There is nothing wrong with enjoying the finer things in life. It’s another thing to just spend frivolously and carelessly. I am constantly setting financial goals for myself, and so far I have been on track. It’s up to you to decide which is more important, keeping up with the Joneses or keeping up with your own life’s plans.

“He looks the whole world in the face for he owes not any man. ” ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

“Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy shit we don’t need.” – Tyler Durden, Fight Club (via author Chuck Phalanuick)

“The only reason a great many American families don’t own an elephant is that they have never been offered an elephant for a dollar down and easy weekly payments.”  ~Mad Magazine

Comments
  1. donationcan says:

    The mad magazine quote is true!

    Donation-Can.com

Leave a Reply

