Rather be Caught Dead than to be Caught Nappy

Posted: April 12, 2012 in Looks Like a Black Woman??
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The year is 2012 and I can’t believe black women are still scared to death of their own nappy hair. “I wanna lock my hair but I’m scared” or “Ooooh girl I gotta get a touch up! My hair is lookin’ all nappy!” or “Yeah girl I’m bout to get that premium Indian hair weave. That’s good hair right there!” It’s sad, but it’s gotten to the point for me where it’s actually hilarious.

A lot of us have caught the message that it’s ok to leave our hair in the original state our creator designed it in. Unfortunately, the masses have not caught on. We would rather put chemicals in our hair and melt it down so it’s straight because that’s the closest we’ll ever get to “good hair”. We would rather sew in and glue in fake hair, damaging our real hair.

Like I’ve mentioned before, I have dabbled in weaves before. I’m definitely no stranger to wigs either. I did this simply because I liked to change my look and try different things. It was never because I didn’t love my own hair. To be honest, I felt like I looked ridiculous every time I got a weave though. Two different hair textures, sometimes two different colors too. I would look in the mirror and I wasn’t even buying my own front. To make it worse, the sew-in weave just robbed my edges and never brought them back.

We want so badly to make our hair look like any other race other than our own. Of course this stems from years and years of being brainwashed during slavery where we were stripped from our roots and taught self-hatred. Slavery ended a long time ago, but not in our minds I guess. I think it’s about that time…

I remember when I first got to California I had a hard time finding a good loctician to twist my hair. I told this black lady I know I might just have to cut my locs. Her face scrunched up and her eyes popped out of her head as she asked “what are you gonna do wear like a lil fro or something?” I told her possibly and she seemed absolutely horrified by the thought. I wanted to bust out laughing at her facial expression. It’s funny to me that the thought of me wearing my hair in its natural state could scare someone so much. So many black women are afraid to wear their natural hair in its natural state. Yet they’re not afraid to put harmful chemicals in their hair that burn, can make their hair fall out, and sometimes even turn their hair to colors they didn’t intend to. In my opinion, that’s scarier!

What I also find funny and embarrassing at the same time is how ridiculous a lot of these weaves look. I saw a lady the other day that was fresh out of the salon. Her weave really looked like someone cut a mop and placed it on top of her head. Lace fronts are a joke in themselves. The little piece in the front raises up and everyone knows that’s not your hair. We continuously keep the hair industry in business spending anywhere from hundreds to thousands on one weave. That’s just silly.

I have nothing against any race, but have you ever seen one of those white boys from the suburbs that want so badly to be “down”? They listened to one Tupac or NWA CD and immediately ran out and bought their “urban gear” starter kit. They start using Ebonics and such. Black people may look at them and laugh. Back in the day they would call them “wiggers”. Well…how do you think the other races are looking at us tying, sewing, and gluing this mess in our hair trying to look like them? Black women, the joke is on us and it’s really not funny…

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    So true, so true. It’s refreshing to see some of the chains have been broken; however so, so many of our beautiful black women still have such a long way to go.
    I pray more if not all chains get broken in our day and age.
    Jewel continue to be courageous and keep putting it out there!

Leave a Reply

